Why do you need User Roles?


Administration, control and management of major/minor options in a Portal plays a key role in application management with respect to an organization. The level of granularity with which the functions, settings, rules and procedures can be defined eases the process of streamlining how an organization uses the system. This can only be achieved by varying role definitions of each user to equip them with different levels of authoritative and contributive options within the Portal.

User Roles determine the access level and permissions of a person authorized to use VIDIZMO. In a default VIDIZMO installation, there are certain predefined roles assigned to users with a default set of permissions. These roles can also be configured as per the need of the organization.


About VIDIZMO User Roles:


Roles are granted permissions which enable users of that specific role to perform various functions within the application. The assigned permissions define a particular function within the Portal. For instance, a Manager is likely to have permissions relevant to managing VIDIZMO Portals.

VIDIZMO's default user roles include:


  1. Administrators
  2. Managers
  3. Moderators
  4. Contributors
  5. Viewers
  6. Anonymous

Note: Every role has certain capabilities, access levels, and permissions that allow the user to complete various tasks. These roles can be customized to meet various business needs, please contact VIDIZMO Support for any customization.


Administrator


Administrators are Account (main portal) owners. An Administrator has full control over the application and can access all functionalities. They have complete control over Media Management, Users and Groups Management, Account Settings, Analytics, Control Panel, and Billing Reports. An Administrator also has the permissions to manage Email Templates, Streaming Servers, Audit Logs, Transcoding, Workflow Queue and Login Settings etc.

An Administrator is typically an IT Admin responsible for configuration, monitoring, and security of your systems. 


Managers


Managers are specific portal's owners who are typically responsible for regular operations such as managing users, media, Portal Settings, monitoring usage via Analytics etc. They can create, edit, delete, or brand Portals as per business needs. Managers have full rights to control and manage media content such as publish or delete any media, schedule a live webcast, change access permissions etc for all media uploaded in their designated Portal. Moreover, Managers are also responsible for managing User Registrations and can also moderate comments and content uploaded by Contributors.

Managers have access to Media Management, Users and Groups, Portal Settings, Analytics, and Control Panel.


Moderators


A Moderator performs the support role for Managers. They can publish, edit settings and moderate media and Comments on a Portal which are pending approval. However, any content or comment submitted by Moderator or above roles do not require moderation. 

Moderators have access to Media Management.


Contributor


A Contributor is basically a Viewer with the additional capability to publish and edit their uploaded content. However, the content submitted by Contributors might require approval from the Moderator+ roles depending on Portal Settings. 


Note: Once the content is approved, Contributors can not edit or delete their uploaded content.


Viewer


A Viewer is a regular end user of your portal who views media content published in a Portal. A Viewer can either be anonymous or authenticated and only has permission to view content that he/she has been given access to. In addition, Viewers can update their Profile, view media assigned to them, view their Personal Viewing Reports.


Anonymous Viewer


Anonymous Viewer is a non-authenticated user who has restricted access to only view public media on any Account/Portal. 


Note: Administrators can choose to require a simple password before anonymous viewers can view any public media. However, this is still considered as anonymous viewing since there is no user identification or authentication involved.


To learn how a user Role can be modified, click here on How to Change a User Role.