Administration, control and management of major/minor options in a Portal plays a key role in application management with respect to an organization. The level of granularity with which the functions, settings, rules and procedures can be defined eases the process of streamlining how an organization uses the system. This can only be achieved by varying role definitions of each user to equip them with different levels of authoritative and contributive options within the Portal.

User Roles determine the access level and permissions of a person authorized to use VIDIZMO. In a default VIDIZMO installation, there are certain predefined roles assigned to users with a default set of permissions. These roles can also be configured as per the need of the organization.


To learn about User Role, see Understanding User Roles


Follow the instructions below to either change a single user's role or multiple users roles at once.

  • Steps to Change Single User Role
  • Steps to Change User Roles in Bulk


Steps

Only Administrators and Managers can change user role from Users & Groups.


Change Single User Role


1. From the Portal's Homepage:

i. Click on the navigation menu on the top left of your screen.

ii. Expand the Admin tab.

iii Click on Users & Groups and you'll be directed to the Users & Group page.




2. On the Users & Groups screen:

i. Search user whose role you need to update.

ii. Click on the overflow menu.

iii. Select Edit User to proceed.




3.   You'll be directed to the User Profile screen:

i. Click on the Assigned Role dropdown menu.

ii. Select the role you need to update.

iii. Click on the Update button to proceed.   



A notification will be displayed briefly stating: User information has been updated successfully.



Change User Roles in Bulk


1. From the Portal's Homepage:

i. Click on the navigation menu on the top left of your screen.

ii. Expand the Admin tab.

iii Click on Users & Groups and you'll be directed to the Users & Group page.




2. On the Users & Groups screen:

i. Search the user by adding their name or domain in the search field.

ii. You can individually select each user or collectively select the entire group using the checkbox at the top.


Note: Bulk editing helps you save time by simultaneously updating multiple items.



iii. Click on the Action drop-down menu.

iv. Select Bulk Edit button to proceed.




3. On the User Profile Update screen:

i. Confirm all email addresses whose role you need to reset.

ii. Select Role from the Assign Role dropdown menu.

iii. Click Update to proceed.



A message will appear stating: User Roles have been changed successfully. 


4. From the top menu bar, click on the User profile >> Profile.  




5. Your role will be updated. 




Roles And Permissions

  • Only Administrators and Managers can change user role from Users & Groups.