VIDIZMO allows users to delete an uploaded media file from a Portal. When media is deleted, the content is removed from the Portal and storage. However, there is a chance that the media is mistakenly deleted. Hence, for content integrity purposes, VIDIZMO provides an option to retain the deleted content for 30 days by default. The retention option is configurable and can be modified as per requirement. Read How to Set Retention Period for Deleted Content.


Here is how you can delete a media file:


Steps

1. From the Portal's Homepage:

i. Click on the Media Manager to select the media which needs to be deleted.

ii. Towards the bottom right-hand side, click on the overflow menu to expand the list of operations that can be performed on the media.

iii. Select Delete.




2. A popup window will appear to confirm if you want to proceed with your selection. If this media is shared on other Portals or users, it will become unavailable to them.Click on the red Delete button to proceed. 




3. If this media is used in any other media such as a Playlist or a Collection, another message will be displayed to notify the user before it is deleted.




A message will appear stating: Media is successfully submitted for deletion. Sometimes the deletion process may take a while depending on the size of the content. A workflow executes in the background to perform this task.


Note: Submitted content for deletion can be recovered within a certain predefined timeframe. This timeframe is called Content Retention Period and can be set by the Administrator or Manager in the Library tab in Settings.


4. The deleted media file will be removed from the Media Library.



Roles and Permissions

Moderator+ roles can delete the media from Media Manager.